Inevitable Wardrobe clearance.

Yesterday my Mom forced me to clean out my wardrobe. I have been postponing it for weeks. But I know it is Inevitable.

I am moving away at the end of the month. She wants to get rid of some of my clutter that I have hoarded over the years.

It is sort of a time machine. Essentially.

It has witnessed my growth. In fashion and in age. It stands still as a testimony of my journey through my baggy tops that covered my “problem area” and my insecurity; to the more fitting tops and t-shirts; and the top that I purchased in spur of the moment that may wear one day.

She wants me to get rid of some clothes that I haven’t worn in years. But she doesn’t understand, I may wear it some day. I may want them back. It is not easy to part with the bright colored floral top that hangs loose.

See Amma, I can’t part with my black jeans even though it has a hole in the knee and has faded to grey in some places, even though I have brand new one. It reminds me of the time that I jumped out of a running train! Also, ripped jeans are that trend now, so are faded ones. Also, a girl can never have enough black jeans.

I have lucky tops, comfortable pants, cute dresses, warm tops and the ones that get me praises whenever I wear them. The top I think looks cute on me, that actually makes me look like a potato with limbs. I can’t explain them all to you.

I may sound crazy to you. But I have my reasons. Valid ones.

It stood as a constant backdrop to the provincial serial life that was my College. I have stood before it in times of sickness and in health; in happiness and in sadness; in good times and in bad ones; during the cold and the heat. I have stood before it wanting energy to get through the day. It has given me the things I needed when I was rushing to catch the 7 am train. It has given me my comfy sweat pants and T-shirts when I came back home exhausted after a long day.

I have the top that I wore to the first day of my college. My lucky jeans that gave me strength to get through the semester week. The formal suit that got me through my dreaded interview. My lab coat that I despised so much, that have some how found its way to my heart. These were the things that got me through college. Every step of the way.

Now I have parted with some of them. It is time now. I know that. It is time that it belongs to some poor girl in some Ashram.

Now my clothes sits in a corner in a bag, ready to witness some other girl’s journey. They will silently witness as she tries to find her way in life. Maybe my cute top will become her comfy ones. Whatever. I hope that girl knows that, the slightly faded blue top was once a favorite of a girl who valued coffee and books as the most precious things in the world. And that, the purple short top was a source of happiness to a girl who loves Illayaraja.

Or it may become a rag cloth in some Aunty’s kitchen!

Who knows?! But my lovelies, know that wherever you go, you will never be forgotten. You will come as flashbacks when I think of my college life, in Technicolor!

Goodbye!

12 thoughts on “Inevitable Wardrobe clearance.

Add yours

  1. wow, this is really deep stuff, really makes you think how transient life really is in the bigger picture. I sometimes like to write about the insanity of my thoughts, maybe I’ll take inspiration from this post of yours.

  2. Enjoyed your post. We all go through the same thing when cleaning out a closet. It’s hard to part with memories! Congratulations on getting through this. You can always take a photo of something you liked… the memory will still live on.

  3. Interesting, but I agree with your mom (being her age I guess). U have to throw old things. De-cluttering is essential – in life and belongings!

  4. I loved the post, keep up with the good work friend although I would suggest that you have a look at the hot tags that are used on WordPress by other bloggers in order to reach out to a larger audience. You can refer to this link https://wordpress.com/tags/ . Nonetheless a lovely post, thanks for sharing! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings would love to know what you think about them šŸ™‚

      1. Thanks for respecting my invitation, please feel free to explore any of my writings an honest feedback would be highly appreciated šŸ™‚

  5. This was a good read. Like I read it all through. I also have clothes that I haven’t worn in ages and I know that I might one day want to wear them. Anyway, I started giving them out to girls who needed them more. My mom would always say “if you have a cloth you haven’t worn in 2 years, it’s not yours then, give it to the owner”. You should follow my blog too, thank you. Bye.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

